Wednesday, August 15, 2012

Karen Kingsbury Redemption Series

Karen Kingsbury is my newest favorite author, and earlier this summer I read and loved her Bailey Flanigan series. Today I finished the final book in another one of her must-read series: The Redemption Series. This series consists of five books: Redemption, Remember, Return, Rejoice, and Reunion and chronicles the fictional Baxter family over a period of about three years. John and Elizabeth Baxter have been happily married for over thirty years, and they have five adult children: Brooke, Kari, Ashley, Erin, and Luke. Faith and family are the two most important things to the close-knit Baxters, and the books in the Redemption Series take the reader on a page-turning journey through the both trials and triumphs they face. No matter whether the Baxters are in the middle of a tragedy or a celebration, their steadfast faith in God and trust in His perfect plan for their lives carries them through. I won't go into detail about the plot for each book because y'all need to read them for yourselves, but the issues various family members face include adultery, addiction, infertility, brain injury, unplanned pregnancy, broken relationships, and cancer. In addition, the tragedy of 9/11 takes place during the Redemption Series and the second book in particular details the impact that fateful event has on the entire Baxter family. Many happy moments such as weddings, births, and precious time making priceless memories with family also pervade the pages of the Redemption Series. Since the Baxters are minor characters in the Bailey Flanigan series (which was published approximately seven years after the Redemption Series) I was already familiar with the ultimate outcomes of certain situations the Baxters faced in the Redemption Series. However, that did not make reading this series any less enjoyable. It was fun to read about earlier events of the Baxter family in greater detail and there were still plenty of twists and surprises along the way. I look forward to reading the Firstborn Series next, followed by the Sunrise Series, which are both spin-offs of the Redemption Series that continue to follow the lives of the Baxters (as well as the Flanigan family, who was introduced in the final book of the Redemption Series). Here are the five books in the Redemption Series. I highly recommend reading them in order:

Book One:

Book Two:

Book Three:

Book Four:

Book Five:

Every book in the Redemption Series is amazing and will leave you inspired and encouraged in your faith! Who else is a Karen Kingsbury fan? Have any of y'all read the Redemption Series?

1 comment:

  1. I nominated you for the Liebster Award and mentioned you in my post :)

    -Rachel @ A Preppy State of Mind