Tuesday, January 8, 2013

Reading Rec: Forever Faithful Trilogy

I haven't done an actual post dedicated solely to a reading recommendation in awhile, so I decided one was long overdue. Within the past couple months I have read all three books in the Forever Faithful Series by Karen Kingsbury. They were absolutely amazing and the underlying theme in all three books is that no matter what trials you are going through, God is faithful and will see you through. He will never leave you or forsake you. The Forever Faithful Trilogy also alludes heavily to Jeremiah 29:11, that God knows the perfect plans He has for each of our lives; and Lamentations 3, that His mercies are new every morning. In Book One, Waiting For Morning, Hannah Ryan's life changes in an instant when her husband and oldest daughter are killed by a drunk driver. She becomes bitter and turns away from God and devotes her life to making sure that the drunk driver who caused the wreck pays for what he did. Read it to find out what happens when God brings two very special people into Hannah's life who strive to prevent her from succumbing to the bitterness that is overtaking her life. Book Two, A Moment of Weakness, focuses on a new set of characters for the first part of the story but reintroduces characters from Waiting For Morning in the later part. The main story involves Jade and Tanner, two childhood friends who are reunited one summer when they are in their early twenties. However, in a "moment of weakness" they make a terrible mistake and fall prey to a web of lies that separates them again. Will they ever find their way back together again? Read it for yourself for a powerful story that illustrates how our God is a God of second chances. I can't really say much about the plot of the final book in the trilogy, Halfway to Forever, without revealing spoilers from the first two books. It involves the main characters from the first two books throughout the entire story. The characters experience some of their biggest trials and heartache thus far, but also experience great hope as they trust God in the midst of the storm. I suggest reading the three books in order, and especially make sure you've read both Book One and Book Two before reading Book Three. The Forever Faithful Series is some of Karen Kingsbury's earlier work-she wrote these three books in the late 1990s/early 2000s, before she wrote the popular Redemption Series.

Here are a few quotes from the series I especially love:

"No matter what else happens in life, you'll always have Jesus with you...I can't imagine life any other way."
-A Moment of Weakness

"I learned that that even in the darkest nights, morning eventually comes...It's God's promise." -Halfway to Forever

"Don't ever blame Jesus for the things that don't go as we plan, sweetheart. He's the only One who always knows what's best. Even if it isn't what we want."
-Halfway to Forever

Book One:

Book Two:

Book Three:

If you decide to read the Forever Faithful Trilogy then come back here and leave a comment on how you liked it! If you've already read it then let me know as well! Happy reading!

No comments:

Post a Comment